All news

Sputnik V vaccine registered in Bosnia and Herzegovina’s Republika Srpska

Earlier, 19 countries including Russia permitted the vaccine's use on their territories

MOSCOW, February 5. /TASS/. Russia’s Sputnik V COVID-19 vaccine has been registered in Republika Srpska (the Bosnian Serb Republic), an entity within Bosnia and Herzegovina, the vaccine’s developers wrote on Twitter on Friday.

"[The] Ministry of Health of Republika Srpska approves Sputnik V vaccine," the tweet says.

Russia, Belarus, Argentina, Bolivia, Serbia, Algeria, Palestine, Venezuela, Paraguay, Turkmenistan, Hungary, the UAE, Iran, Guinea, Tunisia, Armenia, Mexico, Nicaragua, and Lebanon had approved the use of Sputnik V vaccine earlier.

Russia was the first country to register its vaccine against the novel coronavirus on August 11, 2020. The Sputnik V vaccine was developed by the Gamaleya National Research Center for Epidemiology and Microbiology of the Russian Health Ministry. Sputnik V is a vaccine on a human adenoviral vector-based platform. The two-part vaccine is administered in two doses.