All news

Aliyev says Azerbaijani army has taken control of ancient Khudaferin bridge

Dating back to the 11th century, the Khudaferin bridge is renown historical an architectural monument

BAKU, October 18. /TASS/. Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev said on Sunday the Azerbaijani army had taken control of the Khudaferin bridge in Nagorno-Karabakh.

Azerbaijan’s Armed Forces have raised Azerbaijan’s flag over the ancient Khudaferin Bridge," he wrote on his Twitter account.

Dating back to the 11th century, the Khudaferin bridge is renown historical an architectural monument. It has been controlled by Armenia since 1993.

According to Baku, the Azerbaijani army has taken control of more than 50 settlements since the outbreak of hostilities in Nagorno-Karabakh.

Renewed clashes between Azerbaijan and Armenia erupted on September 27, with intense battles raging in the disputed region of Nagorno-Karabakh. The area experienced flare-ups of violence in the summer of 2014, in April 2016 and this past July. Azerbaijan and Armenia have imposed martial law and launched mobilization efforts. Both parties to the conflict have reported casualties, among them civilians.

Following Russia-initiated consultations in Moscow, Azerbaijan and Armenia agreed on a humanitarian ceasefire from 11:00 Moscow time on October 10 to exchange prisoners and the bodies of those killed.

The conflict between Armenia and Azerbaijan over the highland region of Nagorno-Karabakh, a disputed territory that had been part of Azerbaijan before the Soviet Union break-up, but primarily populated by ethnic Armenians, broke out in February 1988 after the Nagorno-Karabakh Autonomous Region announced its withdrawal from the Azerbaijan Soviet Socialist Republic. In 1992-1994, tensions boiled over and exploded into large-scale military action for control over the enclave and seven adjacent territories after Azerbaijan lost control of them. Talks on the Nagorno-Karabakh settlement have been ongoing since 1992 under the OSCE Minsk Group, led by its three co-chairs - Russia, France and the United States.