All news

Vladimir Zelensky sworn in as President of Ukraine

The new president pledged to defend the sovereignty and independence of Ukraine

KIEV, May 20. / TASS /.Vladimir Zelensky took the oath as President of Ukraine at the Ukrainian parliament (Verkhovna Rada) meeting on Monday.

"I do solemnly swear to defend the sovereignty and independence of Ukraine with all my deeds, to provide for the good of the Fatherland and the welfare of the Ukrainian people, to protect the rights and freedoms of citizens, to abide by the Constitution of Ukraine and the laws of Ukraine, to fulfill my duties in the interests of all compatriots, and to enhance the prestige of Ukraine in the world," the new President said, as he placed his hand on the New Testament, and elbow on the Constitution of Ukraine.

The ceremony began with the performance of the national anthem, after which the head of the Central Electoral Commission Tatyana Slipachuk, announced the results of the presidential election, at which Zelensky won.

After swearing in, Slipachuk, presented Zelensky with the identification of the President of Ukraine, and the head of the Constitutional Court, Natalya Shaptala, presented him with the symbols of power - a mace, a badge of the President of Ukraine and the official seal.

Zelensky arrived at the ceremony on foot, from the nearby Mariinsky Park, where he greeted his supporters before the ceremony. His appearance in the park was greeted by cheers and applause, the crowd chanted "Zelensky", and "Victory will be ours."

From there he went to the Rada, where deputies, members of the government, and four former Ukrainian presidents awaited him.

About 60 foreign representatives also arrived at the ceremony. In particular, Andriy Parubiy, the Chairperson of the Rada, presented the presidents of Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, the vice-president of Turkey, the prime minister of Moldova, the head of the Azerbaijani parliament, the vice-premiers of Belarus, Romania, Slovakia, Bulgaria, the US delegation led by Energy Minister Rick Perry and Kurt Volker, US State Department Special Representative for Ukraine, and several others.