All news

Aeroflot to cancel part of previously scheduled international flights until August 31

The decision is dictated by the unfavorable epidemiological situation in the countries of destination, according to the carrier

MOSCOW, August 6. /TASS/. Aeroflot Airlines will extend until August 31 the cancellation of flights to more than 80 foreign cities due to the unfavorable epidemiological situation there, the airline said in a statement.

"Aeroflot announces the forced cancellation of some of its regular international flights for the period until August 31. The decision to adjust the program of international flights was made taking into account the current epidemiological restrictions in the countries of destination," the airline said.

The list includes more than 80 cities Russia has not yet resumed air traffic with.

The countries Russia has already resumed air services with (Tanzania, Turkey and the UK) were not included in the list.

Meanwhile, Zurich has been put on the list, although flights to that city were allowed from August 15. The airline specified that passengers who purchased tickets before May 1, and with the date of the planned trip until August 31, will be able to get a voucher for the ticket.

"Passengers who purchased tickets to the listed destinations after May 1, 2020 on the airline's website or at the contact center will receive a refund for canceled flights automatically in accordance with the form of payment," the company added.

The airline canceled flights to the following cities: Aktau, Aktobe, Alicante, Almaty, Amsterdam, Atyrau, Athens, Baku, Bangkok, Barcelona, Beirut, Berlin, Bishkek, Bologna, Brussels, Budapest, Burgas, Bukhara, Bucharest, Valencia, Warsaw, Washington, Vienna, Venice, Verona, Vilnius, Havana, Hamburg, Hannover, Hong Kong, Guangzhou, Delhi, Dresden, Dublin, Dusseldorf, Yerevan, Zagreb, Heraklion, Karaganda, Chisinau, Copenhagen, Kostanay, Kyzylorda, Larnaca, Lyon, Lisbon, Los Angeles, Ljubljana, Madrid, Miami, Malaga, Marseille, Milan, Munich, Naples, Nice, Nur-Sultan, New York, Oslo, Osh, Palma de Mallorca, Paris, Beijing, Prague, Phuket, Riga, Rome, Rimini, Thessaloniki, Samarkand, Sofia, Split, Stockholm, Tallinn, Tashkent, Tel Aviv, Tenerife, Tokyo, Ulan Bator, Frankfurt, Hanoi, Helsinki, Ho Chi Minh City, Zurich, Shanghai, Stuttgart and Shymkent.

In April, Aeroflot suspended international sales until August 1 amid the coronavirus pandemic. At the same time, the company announced that the ban would be in effect until "there is certainty about the resumption of international air traffic."

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, Russia closed all international passenger flights in March, and partial resumption of flights began on August 1.