All news

Ukrainian parliamentary committee upholds bill terminating Friendship Treaty with Russia

The respectivwe decree was signed by the Ukrainian president in mid-September

KIEV, December 5. /TASS/. The Ukrainian Verkhovna Rada (parliament) Foreign Affairs Committee has unanimously upheld a bill terminating the Treaty on Friendship, Cooperation, and Partnership with Russia, committee head Anna Gopko said.

Deputy Foreign Minister Vasily Bondar, in turn, said that he expected the Rada to make the necessary decisions "to complete internal procedures and after that notify Russia about the treaty’s termination."

On September 17, Ukrainian President Pyotr Poroshenko signed a decree enforcing the Ukrainian Security Service’s decision to terminate the Treaty on Friendship, Cooperation and Partnership with Russia. On September 24, the Ukrainian Foreign Ministry notified the Russian Foreign Ministry about the move. However, experts pointed out that the document had to be approved by the parliament to enter into force.

Meanwhile, Ukrainian expert Ruslan Bortnik said the president’s decision to submit the bill to the parliament was only a propaganda stunt.

"The bill terminating the Friendship Treaty with Russia demonstrates the authorities’ inaction which it seeks to present as a success in the information field," Bortnik wrote on Facebook. According to him, this is the reason why the parliament started to consider the bill in December, when preparations got underway for the presidential election, instead of making a decision in September, when the president signed the decree. "In any case, the treaty with Russia will remain in effect until April 1, 2019, though its termination process has long become a political show that does not affect the life of the Ukrainian people but has been distracting them for the past four years," the expert noted.

Treaty on Friendship

Russia and Ukraine signed the Treaty on Friendship, Cooperation and Partnership in May 1997. The document, which entered into force in April 1999 for a term of ten years, could be automatically extended for ten-year periods provided the parties did not object. The document enshrines strategic partnership between the two countries and mutual obligations not to use one’s territory to harm the other’s security, as well as recognizes the inviolability of existing borders.

In October 2018, the period expired for the parties to announce their plans either to extend the treaty for another ten-year term or denounce the document.