All news

Hungary becomes first EU country to register Russia's Sputnik V vaccine

The vaccine was approved under the emergency use authorization procedure

MOSCOW, January 21. /TASS/. The Russian Direct Investment Fund (RDIF) has confirmed that the National Institute of Pharmacy and Nutrition of Hungary (OGYEI) approved Russia’s Sputnik V vaccine against the coronavirus, according to a press release on RDIF’s website.

"Thus Hungary has become the first country in the European Union to authorize the use of Sputnik V. The vaccine was approved under the emergency use authorization procedure. The approval is based on the results of the clinical trials of Sputnik V in Russia and a comprehensive assessment of the vaccine by experts in Hungary," RDIF said.

In November 2020, Hungary became the first EU country to receive samples of the Russian Sputnik V vaccine for research.

Earlier, Reuters reported, citing sources, that Hungary would purchase vaccine against the novel coronavirus through the EU procurement program or from China. In turn, RDIF denied information in the media about Hungary's refusal to receive the Sputnik V vaccine. The required volume will be supplied to the country in January-March.