All news

Russia’s government temporarily restricts entry of Iranian citizens into country

The measure is dictated by safety concerns amid the coronavirus pandemic

MOSCOW, February 28. /TASS/. The Russian government has decided to temporarily restrict entry of Iranian citizens into the country from February 28 due to an outbreak of coronavirus, according to a report on the government’s website.

"In order to ensure state security, protect public health, and prevent the spread of a new coronavirus infection (2019-nCoV) on the territory of the Russian Federation, from 00:00 on February 28, 2020, Moscow time, the Russian Federal Security Service temporarily suspends passage of citizens of the Islamic Republic of Iran across the Russian state border, their entry into the territory of the Russian Federation for studying and employment, as well as for private, tourist and transit purposes," the report reads.

According to the decree, the Russian Foreign Ministry must temporarily suspend processing and issuance of visas to Iranian citizens. The Russian Ministry of Internal Affairs halts registration and issuance of work permits to Iranian citizens outside of Russia, as well as invitations for studying and employment.

By another decree, the government adopted a temporary restriction for entry of foreign citizens from Iran through air checkpoints at the Russian state border starting on February 28.

The Chinese authorities registered an outbreak of the new coronavirus 2019-nCoV in the city of Wuhan. Cases of new coronavirus were confirmed in 55 countries and territories, including Russia. The World Health Organization declared the coronavirus outbreak a public health emergency of international concern. According to latest reports, the death toll climbed to 2,859 in China, while the number of confirmed cases surpassed 83,380, and over 36,620 people recovered.