All news

Political obstacles to Iran’s membership in SCO removed — Iran’s Security Council

Iran, Afghanistan, Belarus and Moldova have an observer status in Shanghai Cooperation Organization

TEHRAN, August 11. /TASS/. The political obstacles to Iran’s joining the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) have been removed, Ali Shamkhani, Secretary of Iran's Supreme National Security, wrote on Twitter on Wednesday.

"Fortunately, the political obstacles to Iran’s membership in the SCO have been removed and Iran’s membership will be finalized," he said.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) is a regional international assembly. Its permanent members are Russia, India, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran and Mongolia have an observer status, while Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Turkey have a status of SCO dialogue partners.