All news

Russia's Pacific Fleet celebrates its birthday

Russia's Pacific Fleet consists of 57 warships and 21 submarines

Russia's Pacific Fleet is celebrating its 288th anniversary, and according to tradition, it was founded on May 21, 1731. The fleet was known as the Okhotsk Military Flotilla (1731-1856) and the Siberian Military Flotilla (1856-1918) and formed to defend Russian interests in the Russian Far East region along the Pacific coast. Today, the fleet consists of 57 warships and 21 submarines.