All news

Another humanitarian corridor may be opened in Eastern Ghouta de-escalation zone

There are four de-escalation zones in Syria at present

MOSCOW, November 23. /TASS/. Syrian government officials are negotiating with the armed opposition possible opening of another humanitarian corridor in the southern part of the Eastern Ghouta de-escalation zone, the Russian center for reconciliation of the warring parties in Syria said on Thursday.

"In order to expand humanitarian access to the Eastern Ghouta de-escalation zone, Syrian government officials, with mediation of Russian reconciliation center officers, are in talks with representatives of the armed opposition on opening an extra humanitarian corridor in the southern part of the Eastern Ghouta de-escalation zone," the center said.

According to the center, the new corridor will facilitate free movement for people living in the opposition-controlled settlements of Jasrain, Kafr Batna, al-Muhammadiyah and Ein Tarma and the settlements of al-Sakhiya, Jaramana, Zibdin and al-Tabala, which are controlled by government troops.

Apart from that, the center said that as many as 69 Syrian returned to their homes, including 46 in the province of Aleppo, and 23 - in the province of Homs, from refugee camps.

The Russian reconciliation center conducted a humanitarian operation to deliver more than 1.7 tonnes of food products to the settlement of Flit. Russian military medics offered medical aid to 93 Syrians, including 23 children.

The center also said that demining works continue in settlements in the Deir ez-Zor province, which were liberated from terrorists. Syrian bomb specialists cleared of explosive objects the central square and are working in main streets of the recently liberated city of al-Bukamal.

According to the center, the Russian and Iranian group of the joint Iranian-Russian-Turkish coordination center held a meeting to specify areas to place observation posts to control the ceasefire in the Idlib de-escalation zone.

De-escalation zones in Syria

At the Astana meeting on Syria in May, the Syrian ceasefire guarantor nations (Russia, Iran and Turkey) signed a memorandum on setting up de-escalation zones in the war-torn country.

The three de-escalation zones are in located Syria’s southwest, in Eastern Ghouta (Damascus suburbs) and near Homs. The fourth zone covers the Idlib province and parts of the neighboring Aleppo, Latakia and Hama. Starting from May 6, military activities and aircraft flights in the de-escalation zones were banned.