All news

Canada slaps sanctions on 38 Russian individuals, 16 entities — foreign ministry

According to Ottawa, they are connected "with Russian propaganda"

OTTAWA, February 3. /TASS/. Canada has extended its sanctions list by imposing restrictions on 38 individuals and 16 entities, which, in Ottawa’s version, are involved in "Russian propaganda", the Canadian foreign ministry said in a statement published on its site on Friday.

Among the targeted individuals are journalists Sergey Brilyov and Tatiana Mitkova; State Duma member Alexander Khinshtein; pop singers Oleg Gazmanov, Nikolay Baskov, Polina Gagarina, Nadezhda Babkina, and Irina Allegrova; and actor Mikhail Boyarsky.

Additionally, sanctions were imposed on the media group MIA Rossiya Segodnya and the news agency RIA Novosti, as well as on some organizations that are associated with businessman Yevgeny Prigozhin, according to Ottawa.