All news

Presidential election begins in Tajikistan

The country has more than 4.9 million registered voters

DUSHANBE, October 11. /TASS/. Presidential election began in Tajikistan on Sunday as 3,375 polling stations opened all over the country at 06:00 local time (04:00 Moscow time).

According to Tajikistan's Central Election and Referendum Commission, the country has more than 4.9 million registered voters.

Polling stations will close at 20:00 local time (18:00 Moscow time).

Disinfectants, gloves and face masks were delivered to all polling stations. Voters will have to undergo a body temperature check when entering. The premises will be regularly ventilated and decontaminated every two or three hours.

Five candidates are running in the polls - incumbent President Emomali Rahmon (designated by the Federation of Independent Trade Union, the Union of the Youth and the People’s Democratic Party of Tajikistan), Rustam Latifzoda of the Agrarian Party, Abduhalim Ghafforov of the Socialist Party, Rustam Rahmatzoda of the Party of Economic Reform and Miroj Abdulloyev of the Communist Party.

A total of 39 polling stations in 29 foreign countries will be open between 6:00 and 20:00 local time, including five in Russia (Moscow, St. Petersburg, Yekaterinburg, Ufa and Novosibirsk). About 15,000 Tajik citizens living in Russia, including 4,000 in Moscow, are expected to cast their ballot there.

The election will be declared valid if more than 50% registered voters take part. Preliminary results will be announced on October 12, final ones - within 10 days after the vote.