Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Russia expects no other countries to exit Paris climate deal after US decision

June 02, 2017, 14:34 UTC+3

"I don’t think that there will be any chain reaction from other countries," the Russian energy minister said

1 pages in this article
Russian Energy Minister Alexandr Novak

Russian Energy Minister Alexandr Novak

© Artyom Korotayev/TASS

MOSCOW, June 2. /TASS/. Russia’s Energy Ministry does not expect a mass exit of countries from the Paris climate change deal after the US decision, Russian Energy Minister Alexandr Novak said in a live broadcast of Rossiya-24 TV Channel on Friday.

"The United States holds a 15% share of CO2 discharges into the atmosphere," he said.

"This is quite a serious negative signal. I don’t think that there will be any chain reaction from other countries," the energy minister said.

Many countries have stated they remain committed to the accords on climate change while others are introducing modern energy-efficient technologies and using renewable energy sources irrespective of their participation in the Paris agreement, the minister said.

The UN standards require an exit from the agreement to be implemented within three years, the energy minister said.

"We understand that there is quite a long time interval before a final action is made. Perhaps, risks exist but they are not large," he noted.

The Paris agreement on climate change was adopted on December 12, 2015, following the results of a conference in the French capital. A total of 195 participants in the forum agreed on preventing average temperatures on the Earth from rising by more than 2 degrees Celsius by 2100 compared to the pre-industrial epoch.

At a summit at the UN headquarters on April 22, 2016, 175 states, including Russia, Germany, India, China and the United States signed the climate change deal.

Under the agreement, the United States undertook to cut emissions by 26-28% by 2025 over 2005 levels. US President Donald Trump announced on Thursday about the US decision to quit the agreement.

Show more
In other media
Partner News