Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

UN General Assembly set to cooperate with Eurasec

November 20, 2012, 5:42 UTC+3

Eurasec has five member-states at present – Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Tajikistan

1 pages in this article


UNITED NATIONS, November 20 (Itar-Tass) – UN General Assembly session on Monday passed a resolution envisioning a consolidation of ties with the Eurasian Economic Community /Eurasec/.

A draft of the resolution was submitted on behalf of all members of Eurasec and Armenia, which has an observer status in the Community, by Russia. The General Assembly endorsed by consensus.

“Compared with a similar document passed by the 65th session of the General Assembly /two years ago/, the current resolution includes a range of provisions reflecting the progress of integration processes in the Eurasian space,” a spokesman for the Russian mission to the UN told Itar-Tass.

The resolution recognizes, in part, that the Eurasec member-states are taking efficacious steps towards strengthening the regional economic integration in the format of the Customs Union embracing Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan, including the establishment of a Unified Economic Area that went into effect January 1, 2012.

Also, the declaration stresses “the importance of the fact that the regional integration processes are unfolding in strict compliance with /the member-states’/ international commitments in the field of commerce.”

One more key aspect of the document is that the General Assembly has hailed the start of operations of the Eurasian Economic Commission “as a unified and permanently acting regulatory agency of the Customs Union and the Common Economic Space”, as well as the willingness of the member-states to draft a standardized document and to facilitate the establishment of a Eurasian Economic Union on that basis.”

Along with noting the achievements of Eurasec, which received an observer status at the General Assembly in 2003, the resolution also says an item on cooperation between the UN and Eurasec will be included in the preliminary agenda of the 69th session of the General Assembly due in 2014 and 2015.

Russia’s Ambassador to the UN, Vitaly Churkin said Monday the Eurasec member-nations attach significance to economic integration based on the rules and principles of the World Trade Organization and speak in favor of a further cooperation with the UN based on mutual assistance.

Eurasec has five member-states at present – Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Tajikistan. Three more countries – Armenia, Moldova and Ukraine – have an observer status in it.

Show more
In other media
Partner News