All news

Venezuela to revise relations with European countries that recognize Guaido

So far, a dozen of states recognized Venezuelan opposition leader Juan Guaido as acting president

CARACAS, February 4. /TASS/. The Venezuelan authorities have criticized a number of European countries for their decision to recognize opposition leader Juan Guaido as acting president, the Venezuelan Foreign Ministry said in a statement on Monday.

"The Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela categorically dismisses the decision by some European governments to officially join the US administration’s strategy for toppling the legitimate government and president Nicolas Maduro, whom the Venezuelan people elected in a sovereign, free and democratic way," the statement runs.

"The government of the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela will completely revise bilateral relations with these governments from this moment on until when they give up support for the plotters’ plans and get back to strict compliance with international law," the Venezuelan Foreign Ministry said.

On Monday, Austria, Britain, Germany, Denmark, Spain, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Portugal, France, the Czech Republic and Estonia recognized Venezuelan opposition leader Juan Guaido as acting president. They made the decision after the expiration of the eight-day ultimatum the European countries declared against Maduro to make him call an early presidential election. Sweden, Finland and Belgium voiced support for Guaido.

On January 23, Guaido, whose appointment as parliamentary speaker had been annulled by Venezuela’s Supreme Court two days earlier, proclaimed himself as acting president. On the same day the United States recognized as acting head of state. So did the Lima Group of countries except Mexico, the Organization of American States and a number of other countries. On January 29, Washington imposed sanctions on Venezuela’s oil company PDVSA and put part of Venezuela’s assets in US banks under his control.

Support for Maduro was expressed by Russia, Belarus, Bolivia, Iran, China, Cuba, Nicaragua, Salvador and Turkey. The UN secretary-general called for a dialogue for resolving the crisis.