All news

World football federations against boycotting 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia — LOC chief

The matches of the 2018 World Cup will be held between June 14 and July 15 at 12 stadiums

BERLIN, April 13. /TASS/. There is no indications at all that even a single national football federation has intentions to boycott the upcoming 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, Alexey Sorokin, the director general of the Local Organizing Committee (LOC) Russia-2018, told German daily Bild.

"We did not hear from any country about information that a particular footbaal federation wanted to boycott the world championship," Sorokin said in an interview with Bild.

The football official also said that security provision during the championship was one of the top priorities for the organizers.

"We will do everything possible to root out a terrorist threat," Sorokin said adding that he was not expecting fans aggression or clashes between fans of different teams.

The 2018 FIFA World Cup kicks off in 61 days with the opening match in the Russian capital of Moscow.

Russia selected 11 host cities to be the venues for the matches of the 2018 World Cup and they are Moscow, St. Petersburg, Sochi, Kazan, Saransk, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Rostov-on-Don, Nizhny Novgorod, Yekaterinburg and Samara.

The matches of the 2018 World Cup will be held between June 14 and July 15 at 12 stadiums located in the 11 mentioned above cities across Russia. Two of the stadiums are located in the Russian capital.

On December 1, 2017, the State Kremlin Palace in Moscow hosted the Final Draw for the 2018 FIFA World Cup, which determined the group breakdown for the FIFA flagship event this year. A total of 32 national football squads were divided into eight groups with four teams in each.