All news

Confederations Cup trophy set for Australia tour ahead of 2017 FIFA tournament in Russia

MOSCOW, March 14. /TASS/. The much-coveted FIFA Confederations Cup trophy will be brought this week to Australia, which is one of eight countries set to compete for winning this quadrennial award in less than 100 ahead of the global tournament in Russia.

According to the Football Federation Australia (FFA), national football legend Harry Kewell and Brazil’s famed Gilberto Silva, who is the two-time Confederations Cup winner (2005 and 2009) and 2002 FIFA World Cup winner, will bring the trophy to Sydney on Thursday.

The trophy will be on display in Australia for two days in a bid to raise the spirit of the Australian football fans in support of their national team, which is sometimes dubbed at ‘Socceroos.’

"The pair will be in Sydney for two days on Thursday afternoon and Friday to promote the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup as the Socceroos prepare to take on World Champions Germany, Chile and Cameroon in Russia, starting on 19 June," the FFA said in its statement.

Australia’s 38-year-old Kewell played a total of 58 international matches for his national team scoring 17 goals, and is still remembered for his deciding goal in the 1997 FIFA Confederations Cup semifinal match 1-0 victory against Uruguay.

The FIFA Confederations Cup, which is also viewed by experts as a rehearsal a year prior to the FIFA World Cup, will be held between June 17 and July 2 at four stadiums in Russia and they are Spartak Stadium in Moscow, Zenit Arena in St. Petersburg, Fisht Stadium in Sochi and Kazan Arena in Kazan.

Participants in the 2017 Confederations Cup are hosts Russia, 2014 FIFA World Cup Champions Germany, 2015 Copa America Champions Chile, 2015 AFC Asian Cup Champion Australia, 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup winners Mexico, 2016 UEFA Euro Cup champs Portugal, OFC (Oceania Football Confederation) Nations Cup victors New Zealand and 2017 CAF Africa Cup of Nations Champion Cameroon.

The Draw for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup was held on November 26 in the Russian city of Kazan. Following the event, hosts Russia was placed in Group A alongside with Portugal, Mexico and New Zealand. Group B has brought together Germany, Chile, Australia and Cameroon.

The opening game will be held in St. Petersburg on June 17 between Russia and New Zealand. Russia will face Portugal in Moscow on June 21 and on June 24 it will play Mexico in Kazan.

Australia will play its first match against Germany on June 19 in Sochi, then will face off Cameroon on June 22 in St. Petersburg and will meet with Chile in the Russian capital of Moscow on June 25.