Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Ukrainian parliament votes in new government

April 14, 2016, 14:02 UTC+3

"I think this government has a chance to become a government of national confidence," Vladimir Groysman said prior to the voting

1 pages in this article
© AP Photo/Efrem Lukatsky

KIEV, April 14./TASS/. The Ukrainian parliament has approved the lineup of a new government led by Prime Minister Vladimir Groysman with 239 votes cast in favor, above the 226 votes needed.

"I think this government has a chance to become a government of national confidence," Groysman said prior to the voting, presenting his new team.

Foreign Minister Pavlo Klimkin, Defense Minister Stepan Poltorak, Interior Minister Arsen Avakov, Justice Minister Pavel Petrenko, Minister for Information Policy Yuri Stets and Minister for Youth and Sports Igor Zhdanov have retained their positions.

Petro Poroshenko Bloc deputy Igor Nasalik becomes a new Energy Minister. Alexander Danilyuk replaces Natalie Jaresko as Finance Minister. Stepan Kubiv (former head of the National Bank) becomes First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Economic Development and Trade.

The deputies to the prime minister are Pavel Rozenko, Vyacheslav Kirilenko, Vladimir Kistion, Ivanna Klimpush-Tsitsnadze (in charge of European integration issues) and Gennady Zubko (who will manage regional development, construction and housing sector).

The government of Prime Minister Groysman gets a new agency - Ministry for Forced Migrants, the ATO Zone (zone of a combat operation in Donbass) and Occupied Territories, led by Vadim Chernysh.

The post of Minister of Health remains vacant.

Show more
In other media
Partner News