Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Azerbaijani Armed Forces delivered 126 strikes at Nagorno-Karabakh — ministry

April 05, 2016, 9:54 UTC+3 BAKU

Azerbaijan’s Defense Ministry has accused Armenian forces of violating ceasefire regime in the conflict area in Nagorno-Karabakh 120 times over the past 24 hours

1 pages in this article
© Davit Abrahamyan, PAN Photo via AP

BAKU, April 5. /TASS/.  Azerbaijan’s Defense Ministry has accused Armenian forces of violating ceasefire regime in the conflict area in Nagorno-Karabakh 120 times over the past 24 hours using heavy machine guns, mortars of various caliber, grenade launchers and artillery systems.

Positions of the Azerbaijani army stationed along the border between the two countries were shelled from Armenian territory, the defense ministry said adding that Azerbaijani positions in Nagorno-Karabakh also came under fire.

"In accordance with the operational environment, Azerbaijani Armed Forces delivered 126 strikes at positions and tranches of the enemy," the ministry added.

On Saturday, April 2, the situation in Nagorno-Karabakh rapidly deteriorated when the parties to the Karabakh conflict accused each other of violating truce along the front line. The claims came from defense authorities of Armenia and of Azerbaijan.

Neighboring Armenia and Azerbaijan fell out with each other in the late 1980s because of Nagorno-Karabakh, the disputed territory that had been part of Azerbaijan before the Soviet Union break-up but was mainly populated by Armenians.

In 1991-1994, the confrontation spilled over into large-scale military action for control over the enclave and some adjacent territories. Thousands left their homes on both sides in a conflict that killed 30,000. A truce was called between Armenia and the Nagorno-Karabakh republic on one side and Azerbaijan on the other in May 1994.

Talks on Nagorno-Karabakh have been held on the basis of the so-called Madrid Principles suggested by co-chairs of the Minsk Group of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) Russia, France and the United States in December 2007 in the Spanish capital. They include three key principles written in the Helsinki Final Act: refraining from the threat or use of force, territorial integrity and the right to self-determination.

Show more
In other media
Partner News