Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Poroshenko cancels sanctions against 6 European journalists

September 18, 2015, 11:18 UTC+3 KIEV

Sanctions were lifted from from three British journalists, two Spanish journalists and German journalist Michael Rutz

1 pages in this article
Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko

Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko

© Mikhail Markiv/Ukrainian presidential press service/TASS

KIEV, September 18. /TASS/. Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko has signed a decree on amending the sanctions list of individuals adopted on September 16, the presidential press service said on Friday.

"The president signed a decree on enforcing the decision of National Security and Defense Service to lift sanctions from six people," the press service said.

The sanctions list was removed from the official presidential website.

On Thursday, Poroshenko said that Ukraine’s National Security and Defense Service would lift sanctions from three British journalists - Anton Chicherov, Emma Wells, Steve Rosenberg, two Spanish journalists - Angel Sastre and Rodriguez Antonio Jose Pampliega, and German journalist Michael Rutz.

Ukraine’s sanctions against companies and officials

On Wednesday, Poroshenko approved Ukraine’s sanction list against 105 companies. Among them are Russian flag carrier Aeroflot and other air carriers Transaero, Ural Airlines, Siberia and Orenburg Airline, Gazpromavia Airline, Gazprombank, Bank of Moscow, antivirus software producer Kaspersky Laboratory and its Ukraine’s subsidiary.

The list includes the Novorossiya civil movement, the Oplot organization, the Prizrak and Somali brigades as well as a number of charity Christian foundations.

Poroshenko also approved the inclusion of 388 people in Ukraine’s sanctions list, including Alexander Brod, director of the Moscow-based human rights bureau and a member of the Council for Civil Society Development and Human Rights operating under the Russian president; Russian president’s adviser, Sergey Glazyev; Russian Children’s Rights Ombudsman Pavel Astakhov and Konstantin Kosachev, the head of the Russian Federation Council Committee for International Affairs.

Russian journalists from TASS, RIA Novosti, Izvestiya and Rossiyskaya Gazeta newspapers, RUPTLY news agency, NTV television company and Channel One were included in the sanctions list.

Among sanctioned journalists are three correspondents from TASS - Andrey Shitov (Washington), Alexander Nechayev, the head of TASS bureau in South Africa; and Alexander Surzhansky, an employee of the agency’s department for European countries.

All sanctioned individuals are banned from entering Ukraine, and their assets, if any, on the territory of Ukraine are subject to being frozen.

Show more
In other media
Partner News