Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Decision on extending EU sanctions against Russia enters into force

June 23, 2015, 10:39 UTC+3 BRUSSELS

On Monday, the EU Council at the foreign ministers’ level extended the economic sanctions against Russia for six months

1 pages in this article
© AP Photo/Yves Logghe

BRUSSELS, June 23. /TASS/. The decision on extending the EU’s economic sanctions against Russia has come into force, according to the Official Journal on Tuesday.

"This Decision shall apply until 31 January 2016," the document reads.

On Monday, the EU Council at the foreign ministers’ level extended the economic sanctions against Russia for six months.

This came in an effort to implement in full the February 12 Minsk agreements on Ukraine, a spokeswoman for the council’s external affairs service, Susanne Kiefer said.

Sanctions against Russia

The West started imposing sanctions on Russia since March 2014 in the wake of the drastic events evolving in Ukraine at that time. First, an early EU summit stalled the talks on a visa-free regime and a new base agreement on Russia-EU cooperation. Further on, the sanctions were grouped into three categories - personal, corporate and sectoral.

By the beginning of September, some 420 Russian individuals and 143 companies had been put on the sanction lists of the European Union, the United States, Canada, Australia, Japan, Switzerland and Norway.

The sectoral sanctions imposed for a term of one year include an embargo on the supply of arms to Russia and the importation of Russian weapons and related materials, a ban on the delivery of dual-purpose products and technologies to Russia, as well as innovative technologies for Russia’s oil extracting industry.

In mid-September, the European Union published new sanctions against Russia in its official journal.

Russia fully banned from August 7, 2014 the imports of meat, fish, cheeses, milk, vegetables and fruits from western countries that had imposed economic sanctions against Russian citizens and companies.

The countries that have slapped sanctions against Russia include the European Union member states, Norway, the United States, Canada, Australia and Japan.

Show more
In other media
Partner News