Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Abkhazia urges seven states to recognize its independence

February 13, 2015, 17:29 UTC+3 SUKHUM

Lawmakers of the republic called on the parliaments of Cuba, Ecuador, Bolivia, and the Caribbean states to recognize Abkhazia's independence

1 pages in this article
© ITAR-TASS/Vladimir Astapkovich

SUKHUM, February 13 /TASS/. Abkhazian deputies on Friday called on the parliaments of Cuba, Ecuador, Bolivia, and the Caribbean states (Antigua and Barbuda, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines; and the Commonwealth of Dominica) to recognize Abkhazia’s state independence.

"The Republic of Abkhazia is a sovereign democratic and rule-of-law state which emerged as a result of self-determination of our people and which is developing as an independent state. The establishment and legalization of its state independence took place in compliance with universally acknowledged norms of international law," the Abkhazian parliament said in its address sent to the parliaments of the seven states.

"The People’s Assembly [parliament], which is expressing the will of the Abkhazian people, is calling on you to consider its address with a request to recognize the state independence of the Republic of Abkhazia," the document said.

According to Said Kharaziya, a member of the parliamentary Committee for international affairs, the addresses adopted on Friday were part of Abkhazia’s policy to expand international ties.

Six UN member states have recognized Abkhazia’s independence thus far. They include Russia, Nicaragua, Venezuela, Vanuatu, Tuvalu and Nauru.

Show more
In other media
Partner News