Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

LNR election head on EU sanctions list is doomed attempt to bring to nothing

November 29, 2014, 22:03 UTC+3 LUGANSK

“I appear to be blamed for a high turnout at the elections in our republic,” - Sergey Kozyakov said

1 pages in this article

LUGANSK, November 29. /TASS/. Head of the Central Election Commission of the self-proclaimed Lugansk People’s Republic /LPR/ Sergey Kozyakov said that his name on the European Union’s sanctions list was a doomed attempt to bring to nothing the outcome of elections held in LPR on November 2.

Earlier in the day, the EU published in its Official Journal a new sanctions list, which includes 13 representatives of the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics /DPR and LPR/ and five east Ukrainian parties, which participated in the local elections that the EU regarded as illegitimate.

“I appear to be blamed for a high turnout at the elections in our republic,” the CEC head told reports on Saturday. “I can only guess what they have in their heads. Anyhow, now Russia’s opinion counts for us, but not the EU’s.”

Kozyiakov said that the EU actions are “declarative and political” without any tangible consequences.

The EU list features head of the Lugansk Central Election Commission Sergei Kozyakov, DPR’s first deputy speaker of the parliament Alexander Kofman, DPR’s First Deputy Prime Minister Ravil Khalikov, LPR’s Fist Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Dmitry Semenov, LPR’s Defence Minister Oleg Bugrov, LPR’s Minister of Education Igor Kostenok, member of DPR’s National Council Evgeny Orlov, Deputy head of LPR’s National Council Oleg Akimov, LPR’s Healthcare Minsiter Larisa Airapetyan, DPR’s member of the parliament and a member of the Berkut /Ukraine’s riot police/ veterans’ union Yuri Sivokonenko.

Besides, the EU banned financial relations with DPR’s and LPR’s five parties and public organisations for having nominated their candidates for the elections on November 2, which the EU considers illegal. The organisations on the sanctions list are: Donetsk Republic headed by Alexander Zakharchenko, Peace to Luganschina headed by Igor Plotnitsky, Free Donbass, People’s Union (LPR), the Lugansk Economic Union headed by Oleg Akimov.

Sivokonenko and Kofman participated in the elections in the DPR, and Akimov and Airapetyan ran for head of the LPR.

The Donetsk Republic and Free Donbass ran for seats at DPR’s parliament, Peace to Luganschina, the Lugansk Economic Union and the People’s Union competed for seats at Lugansk’s parliament.

From Saturday, the published sanctions come into force. The persons on the list cannot enter the EU, their assets are frozen; and financing of the organisations is banned.

Show more
In other media
Partner News