Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

EU approves new sanctions against Ukraine's self-proclaimed republics

November 28, 2014, 17:55 UTC+3

The names of the new sanctions targets will be published on Saturday

1 pages in this article
© Mikhail Pochuyev/TASS

BRUSSELS, November 28. /TASS/. The Council of the European Union on Friday approved the introduction of fresh sanctions against 13 representatives of the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk people’s republics and five organizations, the Council’s press service said.

The names of the new sanctions targets to be added to the list of those subject to asset freezes and travel bans will be published on Saturday, the Council said.

On November 17, the Council of the European Union met in Brussels to discuss the situation in Ukraine. The Council announced that having assessed the situation on the ground it would impose additional listings targeting east Ukraine’s militia leaders involved in the recent disputed elections.

On November 27, the Committee of Permanent Representatives in the European Union agreed the list of 18 entities and representatives of the Donetsk and Luhansk republics subject to sanctions. But the final decision on expansion of the sanctions was still to be approved by the Council of the European Union in written form.

The EU blacklist includes now 132 Russian and Ukrainian citizens, and 28 entities. The persons, who are subject to asset freezes and visa bans, include Russia’s leadership, Crimea’s authorities, several Ukrainian politicians who oppose Kiev, and practically all leaders of the Donetsk and Lugansk republics. The entities are subject to a freeze of their assets in the European Union.

Show more
In other media
Partner News