Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Australia’s Tony Abbott announces additional sanctions against Russia

September 01, 2014, 10:37 UTC+3

The measures will correspond to the sanctions regime of the EU imposed on Russia

1 pages in this article
Australian Prime Minister Tony Abbott

Australian Prime Minister Tony Abbott


SYDNEY, September 1. /ITAR-TASS/. Australia decided to impose further sanctions on Russia; they will correspond to the sanctions regime of the EU imposed on Russia, as announced by Australian Prime Minister Tony Abbott.

The sanctions will affect supplies of weapons, equipment and technologies of oil prospecting and extracting in Russia.

In addition, the access of Russian banks to the local financial market will be restricted. 63 Russian and Ukrainian individuals and legal entities have been added to the black list.

Furthermore, Australia imposed restrictions on trade with Crimea and on investments in that region.

Infographics Economical sanctions against Russia

Economical sanctions against Russia

The USA, EU, Canada and Australia have introduced sanctions against Russia over its involvement in the Ukrainian crisis. Infographics by ITAR-TASS

List of new sanctions against Russia

On Saturday, Reuters news agency reported that EU leaders intended to urgently prepare the list of possible further sanctions against Russia in connection with crisis in Ukraine.

According to the report, this clause was included in the draft statement expected to be adopted by heads of EU member states at a meeting in Brussels.

“According to a draft statement from the summit, the EU leaders were set to ask the European Commission and the EU's diplomatic service "to urgently undertake preparatory work" on further sanctions that could be implemented if necessary,” Reuters reported.

Show more
In other media
Partner News