Currency converter
^
News Feed
News Search Topics
ОК
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting
sections.
Loading

Abkhaz presidential poll found valid as voter turnout tops 55%

August 24, 2014, 19:12 UTC+3 SUKHUM
Observers from 24 countries are monitoring the presidential elections in different districts of the republic
1 pages in this article
© ITAR-TASS/Anton Novoderezhkin

SUKHUM, August 24 /ITAR-TASS/. Early presidential elections have been recognized as valid in the South Caucasus Republic of Abkhazia as the voter turnout has reached 55.84%, Central Election Commission head Batal Tabagua said on Sunday.

Abkhazia is holding early presidential elections after President Alexander Ankvab has resigned on the opposition’s demand.

All 154 polling stations opened in Abkhazia at 8am Moscow time (4am GMT) in 32 constituencies and will be closed at 8pm Moscow time (4pm GMT).

Three polling stations also opened outside Abkhazia in the Russian cities of Moscow and Cherkessk and the Turkish city of Istanbul.

General Aslan Bzhania of the State Security Service, former Interior Minister Leonid Dzapshba, incumbent Defence Minister Mirab Kishmaria, and opposition lawmaker Raul Khadzhimba are running for the top post in the republic.

Observers from 24 countries are monitoring the presidential elections in different districts of the republic.

Show more
In other media
Реклама
Реклама