Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Iran, P5+1 start work on draft agreement on Tehran’s nuclear program

June 18, 2014, 18:37 UTC+3 VIENNA

The parties are planning to discuss provisions of a comprehensive agreement

1 pages in this article

VIENNA, June 18./ITAR-TASS/. The third day of talks between Iran and the P5+1 (five permanent members of the U.N. Security Council and Germany) can be decisive in the history of Iran’s “nuclear dossier”, a Western source has said.

The parties are planning to discuss provisions of a comprehensive agreement, the source said.

For two days the parties have coordinated the structure of the document. Iranian Deputy Foreign Minister Abbas Araghchi said Iran and the P5+1 had practically reached agreement on the structure of the document.

The draft will include framework conditions, a contents and a preamble, he said.

The first part will be devoted to the nuclear programme - the enrichment parameters, the work of the reactor in Arak and international nuclear cooperation.

The second part will include chapters on the sanction regime, including the procedure, the time and conditions for lifting sanctions against Iran, a source in the Chinese delegation said.

The parties have many disagreements, the Chinese diplomat said.

In the meantime, Araghchi said, “We hope that we’ll be able to work out a preliminary text of the final agreement upon completion of the consultations.”

“If the parties can coordinate a draft agreement, this will be considered progress,” he said.

The final text of the agreement will be prepared by July 20, Araghchi said.

The final purpose of the consultations is to work out a comprehensive agreement on Iran’s nuclear programme that will guarantee the exclusively peaceful nature of Tehran’s research works and make it possible to lift unilateral sanctions and the UN sanctions. Despite the existing difficulties the parties hope to coordinate the document by July 20.

The P5+1 is a group of countries which in 2006 joined the diplomatic efforts with Iran in regard to its nuclear program. The term refers to the five permanent members of the UN Security Council plus Germany, namely the United States, Russia, China, United Kingdom, France, and Germany.

Show more
In other media
Partner News