Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Parliamentary elections to take place in South Ossetia on June 8

June 08, 2014, 7:04 UTC+3 TSKHINVAL
1 pages in this article

TSKHINVAL, June 08, /ITAR-TASS/. Nine political parties will run in South Ossetia’s parliamentary elections on Sunday. The republic’s legislative body will have 34 deputies elected according to a proportionate system.

The vote will take place at 73 polling stations from 08:00 until 20:00 Moscow time. One polling station will work at the South Ossetian embassy in Moscow. A separate precinct will be open in Tskhinval for South Ossetians who permanently reside in the Republic of North Ossetia in Russia.

More than 90 observers from Russia, the Dniester Republic, Abkhazia, Nagorno-Karabakh, Lithuania, Greece, India, Germany, the United States, Israel and France, a source at the central Electoral Committee told Itar-Tass.

All territorial and district electoral committees are ready for the elections. All polling stations are ready for the vote. The Central Electoral Committee has published over 42 ballot bulletins. The same number of bulletins was published at the presidential elections in South Ossetia in 2012. The names of more than 32,000 voters are included in voter lists in South Ossetia.

The South Ossetian Central Electoral Committee has allowed the Academy of Social Analysis to carry out exit polls at the exit from the polling stations on condition that their results would not be announced before the polling stations were closed.

About 1,150 policemen will guard law and order during the elections for 24 hours a day. South Ossetia has also stopped all crossings of the border with Georgia for local residents in the Leninogorsky and Dzauski districts of South Ossetia for security reasons until June 9.

Show more
In other media
Partner News