Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

18 countries deposit UN arms trade treaty instruments of ratification April 2

April 02, 2014, 22:55 UTC+3 UNITED NATIONS
1 pages in this article

UNITED NATIONS, April 02, /ITAR-TASS/. Eighteen countries filed instruments of ratification for the U.N. Arms Trade Treaty on Wednesday, April 2, thus bringing the number of states that have ratified it to 31.

The instruments of ratification were deposited, among others, by Great Britain, Germany, Denmark, Italy, Ireland, Spain, Latvia, Romania, France, and Finland. The treaty will enter into force upon ratification by 50 countries.

U.N. Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon said 118 countries had signed the treaty up to date. The number of ratifications has reached 31, Ban said, adding that this would generate further momentum towards the 50 ratifications needed for the treaty’s entry into force.

The treaty, adopted by the U.N. General Assembly on April 3, 2013, for the first time sets global standards for the transfer of weapons and efforts to prevent their diversion.

It regulates all conventional arms within the categories of battle tanks, armoured combat vehicles, large-calibre artillery systems, combat aircraft, attack helicopters, warships, missiles and missile launchers and small arms and light weapons.

Among other provisions, the treaty - which will enter into force once it receives 50 ratifications - also includes a prohibition on the transfer of arms which would be used in the commission of genocide, crimes against humanity and certain war crimes.

Show more
In other media
Partner News