Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Australia imposes sanctions against 12 Russians and Ukrainians

March 19, 2014, 13:31 UTC+3 SYDNEY

The black list would not be published

1 pages in this article
© EPA/ANDY RAIN Add to lightbox Add to basket

SYDNEY, March 19. /ITAR-TASS/. Australian Minister for Foreign Affairs Julie Bishop announced on Wednesday Australia had imposed targeted financial sanctions and a ban for entrance to Australia for people who are playing the key role in determining Russian policy that threatens sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine.

These actions confirm Australia’s clear and unambiguous support for Ukraine’s territorial integrity and sovereignty, said Bishop.

The black list would not be published, Australian Department of Foreign Affairs told Itar-Tass. The names will be announced once the 2011 law on sanctions is amended. This was done to prevent the risk of capital withdrawal from Australia, said the Department’s spokesperson.

On Tuesday, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov said in a phone conversation with the US Secretary of State John Kerry that sanctions against Russia introduced by the USA and the EU were absolutely unacceptable and there would be consequences. During the discussion of the Crimean referendum’s results Lavrov pointed to the principal evaluation mentioned in the Russian president’s address on March 18, namely that the people of the republic had made their choice democratically, in accordance with the international law and the UN Charter, the choice Russia recognizes and respects.

Show more
In other media
Partner News