Currency converter
News Feed
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

North Korean warship shoots at Russian fishing schooner, no people injured

September 21, 2013, 2:00 UTC+3
“Meanwhile, the North Korean warship did not get on radio contact,” the press service said
Material has 1 page


MOSCOW, September 21 (Itar-Tass) - A Russian fishing schooner came under fire from a North Korean warship in the neutral waters of the Sea of Japan (the East Sea) on Friday, no people were injured in the shootout, the press service of the Federal Fisheries Agency reported on Saturday.

“The Russian fishing schooner Altai en route from the port Zarubino with live crab cargo onboard to the South Korean port of Donghae came under fire from automatic firearms and pistol flare lights at 18:30 Moscow time (14:30 GMT) on September 20 from a warship of the Korean People’s Democratic Republic (DPRK),” the press service reported.

“Meanwhile, the North Korean warship did not get on radio contact,” the press service said.

“After the shooting the Russian ship started drifting. Armed people from the North Korean warship got onboard the fishing schooner at 18:40 Moscow time (14:40 GMT). The fishing schooner Altai was searched through and the captain was questioned about the port of destination, cargo and the line-up of crew,” the press service said. “Armed people left the Russian vessel at 18:50 Moscow time (14:50 GMT), the ship was permitted to sail to the destination port,” the press service said.

“No people were injured onboard the Russian ship, she was not damaged,” the press service noted.

Показать еще
In other media