Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Kyrgyzstan’s president dismisses republic’s government

April 19, 10:46 UTC+3

Kyrgyzstan’s President Sooronbay Jeenbekov has dismissed the republic’s cabinet of ministers

1 pages in this article
Kyrgyzstan’s President Sooronbay Jeenbekov

Kyrgyzstan’s President Sooronbay Jeenbekov

© Valery Sharifulin/TASS

BISHKEK, April 19. /TASS/. Kyrgyzstan’s President Sooronbay Jeenbekov has dismissed the republic’s cabinet of ministers headed by Prime Minister Sapar Isakov, the Kyrgyz president’s press service reported on Thursday.

"The president has approved the no-confidence motion made by the parliament and signed an order dismissing the cabinet of ministers," the press service stated.

At a meeting on April 19 the Kyrgyz MPs voted to express no confidence in the government. The motion was backed by 101 MPs, and five people voted against, the parliament’s press service told TASS. In accordance with Kyrgyz law the motion of no confidence was then sent to the president, who had the right either to approve the cabinet of ministers’ dismissal or disagree with the parliamentarians.

The dismissed government will continue to perform its obligations until a new cabinet of ministers is formed, the Kyrgyz president’s press service reported.

"According to the order, people occupying the positions of prime-minister, deputy prime ministers and members of parliament will continue to perform the obligations of the republic’s government members in accordance with the earlier occupied positions until a new government is formed," the report says. The order came into force on signature.

The chairmen of the Kyrgyz parliament’s opposition factions forwarded the no-confidence motion on Thursday. They gathered the necessary signatures from one-third of MPs, they said. On Tuesday, the Respublika Ata-Zhurt (Motherland Republic), Ata-Meken (Fatherland) and Onuguu-Progress minority factions valued the cabinet of ministers’ last year’s performance as inadequate. The Kyrgyz parliament has a total of 120 MP seats; the social democrats, Bir Bol (Unity) and Kyrgyzstan factions earlier united to form a ruling coalition.

The current Kyrgyz government formed by the majority coalition and headed by Isakov started work in August 2017.

Show more
In other media
Partner News