Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

First 2018 FIFA World Cup store opens in Moscow

December 12, 2017, 16:51 UTC+3 MOSCOW

The first store carrying official 2018 FIFA World Cup merchandise has celebrated its grand opening in Moscow

1 pages in this article
© Artyom Geodakyan/TASS

MOSCOW, December 12. /TASS/. The first store carrying official 2018 FIFA World Cup merchandise has celebrated its grand opening in Moscow, a TASS correspondent reports from the site.

The store has opened its doors on the first floor of the Central Children’s Store on Lubyanka Street. CEO of the Russia-2018 Local Organizing Committee Alexey Sorokin, head of FIFA’s Brand Management team Ana Brito and World Cup Ambassador Yevgeny Savin attended the inaugural ceremony.

"We are very pleased to launch this store in a wonderful shopping mall meant for kids. Very soon, we will launch another store in St. Petersburg, there will also be many stores throughout all of the cities. There is a wide range of merchandise available, so all our customers will have a chance to purchase something. The World Cup is approaching and this is a significant milestone on our way to it," Sorokin elaborated.

Brito, in turn, said that the site for the first store was chosen during talks because a downtown location was needed. According to her, the Central Children’s Store is the perfect place since the World Cup merchandise for the most part targets kids and teenagers. In this connection, she particularly mentioned the tournament’s mascot - a wolf named Zabivaka.

There are official soccer balls, T-shirts, backpacks, uniforms, stationary items and various souvenirs related to the World Cup on sale there.

2018 FIFA World Cup

The 2018 FIFA World Cup will be held between June 14 and July 15, 2018, in 11 Russian cities - Moscow, St. Petersburg, Kazan, Nizhny Novgorod, Saransk, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Yekaterinburg, Samara, Sochi and Rostov-on-Don.

Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Uruguay will make up Group A, while Group B will include Portugal, Spain, Iran and Morocco. Group C is going to consist of France, Australia, Peru and Denmark, while Group D will be Argentina, Iceland, Croatia and Nigeria. Group E will be composed of Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica and Serbia. Group F has Germany, Mexico, Sweden and South Korea, while Group G will encompass Belgium, Panama, Tunisia and England. Finally, Group H has Poland, Colombia, Senegal and Japan.

Show more
In other media
Partner News