Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Three Washington Capitals players summoned to Russian national team for IIHF Championship

May 11, 2016, 9:59 UTC+3

The players are Alexander Ovechkin, Yevgeny Kuznetsov and Dmitry Orlov

1 pages in this article
© AP Photo/Michael Dwyer

MOSCOW, May 11. /TASS/. The forwards of the National Hockey League’s (NHL) Washington Capitals club Alexander Ovechkin and Yevgeny Kuznetsov, as well as defenseman Dmitry Orlov have been called to the Russian national team to play in the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) World Championship in Moscow, the press service of the Russian Ice Hockey Federation (RIHF) reported on Wednesday.

Overnight to Wednesday, Washington Capitals lost to Pittsburg Penguins in the sixth match of the NHL second playoff round (3:4 OT) and dropped out of the Stanley Cup tournament.

In 79 matches of the NHL regular season Ovechkin scored 71 points (50 goals and 21 assists), in 12 playoff games the Washington Capitals captain scored 5 goals and made 7 assists. Also, during the current Stanley Cup tournament Ovechkin has scored the club’s record number of playoff match points - in 84 games played in the NHL the Russian scored 82 (41+41) points.

Kuznetsov has played 82 regular season games in which scored 77 (20+57) points, and in 12 playoff matches he scored 2 (1+1) points. Orlov has scored 29 (8+21) points in 82 regular season matches, as well as had one assist in 11 Stanley Cup playoffs.

The matches of the 2016 IIHF World Championship are held in the Russian capital of Moscow and in the country’s second largest city of St. Petersburg between May 6 and 22. A total of 16 national teams, qualified to play in the 2016 IIHF World Championship, were divided into two groups. The 12,000-seat VTB Ice Palace in Moscow hosts the matches of Group A, which comprise the teams from Russia, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Switzerland, Latvia, Norway, Denmark and Kazakhstan.

The 6,000-seat Yubileiny Arena hosts the matches of Group B teams, which are from Canada, Finland, the United States, Slovakia, Belarus, France, Germany and Hungary.

In the opening game the Russian hockey players lost to the Czech national team (0:3) and then beat the teams of Kazakhstan (6:4) and Latvia (4:0).

The Russian national team will also play within the group stage against the teams of Sweden, Switzerland, Norway and Denmark.

Show more
In other media
Partner News