Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Radulov unlisted in Russian team’s final roster for 2016 IIHF World Championship

May 05, 2016, 17:51 UTC+3

The 2016 IIHF World Championship kicks off in Russia tomorrow

1 pages in this article
Alexander Radulov

Alexander Radulov

© Sergei Fadeichev/TASS

MOSCOW, May 5. /TASS/. Russia’s titled forward Alexander Radulov was unlisted on Thursday in the national team’s final roster for the matches of the 2016 IIHF World Championship, which kicks off in Russia tomorrow.

The final roster of the national squad, presented by the team’s coaching staff, contains the names of two goaltenders and 16 field players. Teams competing in the world championship have the right of including in the roster up to 25 players each, according to IIHF regulations.

Radulov, 29, who is the two-time World Champion playing for the national team in 2008 and 2009, was initially included in the extended roster of the Russian squad. However, team’s Head Coach Oleg Znarok announced on Wednesday that Radulov’s place in team was in jeopardy as the forward earlier sustained a groin injury and would certainly miss the first game.

The final roster of the Russian national team for the 2016 IIHF World Championship is as follows:

Goaltenders: Sergey Bobrovsky (Columbus Blue Jackets), Ilya Sorokin (CSKA Moscow)

Defenders: Viktor Antipin (Metallurg Magnitogorsk), Maxim Chudinov, Vyacheslav Voinov (all from Ska St. Petersburg), Alexei Yemelin (Montreal Canadiens), Alexei Marchenko (Detroit Red Wings), Nikita Zaitsev (CSKA Moscow).

Forwards: Sergei Mozyakin (Metallurg Magnitogorsk), Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit Red Wings), Artemy Panarin (Chicago Blackhawks), Vadim Shipachev, Yevgeny Dadonov, Sergei Shirokov (all from SKA St. Petersburg), Roman Lyubimov (CSKA Moscow), Sergei Kalinin (New Jersey Devils), Sergei Plotnikov (Arizona Coyotes), Alexander Burmistrov (Winnipeg Jets).

This year the Russian national team begins the global championship with the game against the Czech Republic on Friday, May 6, at 8:15 p.m. Moscow time (17:15 GMT).

A total of 16 national teams, qualified to play in the upcoming 2016 IIHF World Championship, were divided into two groups. The 12,000-seat VTB Ice Palace in Moscow will host the matches of Group A, which comprise the teams from Russia, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Switzerland, Latvia, Norway, Denmark and Kazakhstan.

The 6,000-seat Yubileiny Arena will see the matches of Group B teams, which are from Canada, Finland, the United States, Slovakia, Belarus, France, Germany and Hungary.

During the knock-out stage the stadiums in Moscow and St. Petersburg will each host two matches of the quarterfinals round, while both semifinals, the match for the third place and the final are scheduled to be held at the VTB Ice Palace in Moscow.

This will be the 7th IIHF World Championship held in Russia as it was hosted by Moscow five times, namely in 1957, 1973, 1979, 1986 and 2007, and once by St. Petersburg in 2000.

Russia’s most recent titles of world champions were conquered in 2008, 2009, 2012 and 2014. The 2008 title was a real treat for Russian hockey fans as it came to the team after a 15-year drought. That title Russia snatched from Canada, which was hosting the World Championship for the first time in its history, with 5-4 victory in overtime.

Show more
In other media
Partner News