Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

FIA Formula E racing in Moscow to grow bigger with each year — CEO Alejandro Agag

June 08, 2015, 18:47 UTC+3 MOSCOW

Alejandro Agag said he is sure the race will take place in Moscow next year

1 pages in this article
© Mikhail Japaridze/TASS

MOSCOW, June 8. /TASS, Yevgeny Ionov/. Moscow ePrix, held as part of the inaugural FIA Formula E World Championship on Saturday on the scenic track near the Kremlin walls, will stay in the Russian capital for years to come and will be growing bigger with each year, Alejandro Agag, the chief executive of Formula E racing, told TASS.

"This has been the first one of many I hope," Agag said in an exclusive interview with TASS. "Definitely it is going to be bigger and bigger every time."

"This was a little bit of a test in terms to see how it worked, the location etc.," he said. "That works fantastically well, so we are happy, very excited and for sure we are going to be here [in Moscow] next year."

Speaking in general about the June 6 Moscow ePrix, Agag said the event "definitely justified the expectations" and "the impression is fantastic."

"I think it was a really an incredible event organized by the local team," Formula E CEO told TASS. "They have done an incredible job."

Asked to comment on the developments on the racing track on Saturday, Agag said "the race was very exciting."

"At the end of the race Lucas was catching up with Nelson, they had to manage the energy. Nelson had a good strategy and won the race. Lots of action. I am really looking forward to come back next year."

Having qualified in the second place, Nelson Piquet Jr. from NEXTEV TCR team (former China racing) was quicker to take advance over the pole position holder Jean-Eric Vergne from team Andretti in the opening lap and remained in the lead for the rest of the race to eventually win the Moscow ePrix.

Audi Sport ABT’s Lucas Di Grassi finished the race in the second place and Sebastian Buemi from E.Dams Renault mounted the third step of the winning podium after the race.

"It was all important, practice, but especially qualifying because of the importance of track position on this track," Piquet told journalists after the finish. "There was not much overtaking in this race. I had a good start, good reaction, bit of luck, the setup of the car helped also."

Having travelled the world, Formula E now prepares to head home to England, where it all started with the test session at Donington Park last summer. The season finale will take place in London on a circuit built in Battersea Park.

There will be two races over the final weekend of June, with one on Saturday 27th and the other on Sunday 28th. Six drivers are still in the hunt for the title - Nelson Piquet Jr, Sebastien Buemi, Lucas di Grassi, Nicolas Prost, Jerome D’Ambrosio and Sam Bird, while in the teams’ championship, e.dams-Renault will arrive in the English capital with 187 points to their name, 44 more than Audi Sport ABT, while NEXTEV TCR is third on 132.

Formula E is a new FIA single-seater championship and the world's first fully-electric racing series.

All cars racing in the FIA Formula E championship are identical, therefore the drivers are in equal positions. The car weighs little less than 900 kilograms with the battery being the heaviest part of the vehicle weighing 320 kilograms. With the maximum power of 200 kW (270 hp) the car is capable of reaching the speed of 100 kmph in three seconds and its maximum speed is limited to 225 kmph.

A total of 10 teams are currently participating in the Formula E championship with two drivers racing for each team. The list of the pilots of the new racing event include the names of such developed racers as Jerome D'Ambrosio, Jarno Trulli, Sebastien Buemi, Nick Heidfeld, Bruno Senna, Nelson Piquet Jr., Jean-Eric Vergne and many others.

During the races drivers must make one mandatory pit stop in order to change cars, therefore the total number of electricity-driven race cars shipped between the global venues of the championship throughout the season stands at 40.

Show more
In other media
Partner News