Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Russia beats Denmark 5-2 at 2015 Ice Hockey World Championship

May 06, 2015, 19:31 UTC+3

This was the third victory for the Russian team in its Group B matches in a total of four it's already played

1 pages in this article
© Valery Sharifulin/TASS

OSTRAVA, May 6. /TASS/. The Russian national ice hockey team defeated the Danish squad 5-2 in a group stage match of the 2015 IIHF World Championship hosted this year by the Czech Republic.

Reigning champions Russia looked convincing in the first period finishing it with two unanswered goals. The second period saw both teams each scoring a goal. Denmark edged closer to the Russians scoring another goal in the third period, but the ‘Red Machine’ answered with two goals in the closing minutes of the match to leave the final score of 5-2.

This was the third victory for the Russian team in its Group B matches in a total of four it's already played. The team started the championship, held in the Czech cities of Prague and Ostrava between May 1 and 17, with 6-2 victory over Norway, then played Slovenia beating them 5-3 and lost to the United States on Monday 2-4.

In the remaining three Group B matches Russia will face Belarus on May 9, then Slovakia on the following day and will meet their long-time rivals Finland on May 12.

To the delight of Russian hockey fans, the national squad changed beyond recognition after Znarok teamed up with the squad last year leading it to the champion’s title at the 2014 IIHF World Championship in Belarus.

Russian world champion’s title followed disappointing performance at 2013 World Championship, when it was knocked out from the quarterfinals after being creamed 3-8 by the United States.

Another disappointing performance followed at 2014 Winter Olympic Games in Russia’s resort city of Sochi, where the Russian squad failed once more to clear the quarterfinals stage losing on its home ice 1-3 to Finland.

Russia’s most recent titles of world champions were conquered in 2008, 2009, 2012 and 2014. The 2008 title was a real treat for Russian hockey fans as it came to the team after a 15-year drought. That title Russia snatched from Canada, which was hosting the World Championship for the first time in its history, with 5-4 victory in overtime.

Show more
In other media
Partner News