Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

World Cup 2014 to start in Brazil

June 12, 2014, 13:08 UTC+3

The first time since 1978 the World Cup being held in South America

1 pages in this article

Infographics Participants of 2014 FIFA World Cup final stage

Participants of 2014 FIFA World Cup final stage

Participants of 2014 FIFA World Cup final stage. Infographics by ITAR-TASS
SAO PAULO, June 12. /ITAR-TASS/. The game between the home team and the Croatian national team kicks off the 20th FIFA World Cup on Thursday in Brazil. 32 teams will fight for the champion’s title. For the first time Russian team after 12-year break will take part in the World Cup team, they missed the last two finals.

The first time since 1978 the World Cup being held in South America, whose representatives nine times won the World Cups. The teams from Europe 10 times won the championship.

The second time Brazil hosts the World Cup. The Brazilian team is the most titled in football history. It won five times. However, in 1950, when the Brazilians organized this tournament for the first time, the trophy went to Uruguay. Brazilians are hungry for revenge and are the main favorite of the upcoming World Cup. Besides theirs head is Luiz Felipe Scolari, who led Brazil team to its last title in 2002.

At the preliminary stage 32 teams divided into eight groups. The top two teams from each group get into the 1/8 final. For the third time in its history the Russian team to attend the final tournament of the world championship that failed to qualify from the group in 1994 and 2002. If we take the Soviet history the last time the team played in the playoff of World Cup in 1986. The USSR national team under the leadership of Valery Lobanovsky lost in the game with Belgians with a score of 3:4 in Mexico.

The Russian team will play with the Belgians in Group H, where the rivals of the Fabio Capello team will also be teams of South Korea and Algeria. Russians will play the first game of the tournament with the South Korean team on June 18. The Russian team will meet with Belgium on June 22 and finish the group stage by the meeting with the team of Algeria on June 26.

Sponsors of the World Cup will present several prizes to the official winners. The best player of each game (according to fans who can vote on the official website of FIFA and twitter) will be awarded, the best player of the tournament will get the Golden Ball, the best goalkeeper will get Golden Glove, the top scorer will get the Golden Boot.

The first FIFA World Cup was held in Uruguay in 1930 with only 13 participants. The home team won the championship. At a later stage World Cup tournaments were held every four years. 18 times world champion was determined in the final game and only in 1950 the final round was held in Brazil, although everything became clear in the last game of the tournament between the teams of Uruguay and Brazil, where the guests won Brazilians with a score of 2:1.

Show more
In other media
Partner News