Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Putin presents state awards to Russian Paralympic champions, medalists

March 17, 2014, 19:03 UTC+3 SOCHI

Around 50 Paralympians were given such high awards for their sport achievements

1 pages in this article
Vladimir Putin and ice sledge hockey athlete Ruslan Tuchin

Vladimir Putin and ice sledge hockey athlete Ruslan Tuchin

© ITAR-TASS/Mikhail Klimentyev

SOCHI, March 17. /ITAR-TASS/. Russian President Vladimir Putin has gathered members of Russian Paralympic team — champions and medalists of the Winter Paralympic Games awarding them with state medals in the Russian Black Sea resort city on Monday.

Around 50 Paralympians were given such high awards for their sport achievements.

Notably, Paralympic champions Aleksey Bugaev (cross-country skiing), Alena Kaufman (biathlon and cross-country skiing), Svetlana Konovalova (biathlon and cross-country skiing), Vladislav Lekomtsev (biathlon and cross-country skiing), Mikhalina Lysova (biathlon and cross-country skiing), Anna Melenina (biathlon and cross-country skiing), Rushan Minnegulov (cross-country skiing), Roman Petushkov (biathlon and cross-country skiing), Nikolay Polukhin (biathlon), Valery Redkozubov (Alpine skiing), Yelena Remizova (cross-country skiing) and Aleksandra Frantseva (Alpine skiing) were awarded with the Order For Merit to the Fatherland IV class.

A large group of Paralympic athletes were awarded with the Order of Friendship, including Paralympic champions Yulia Budaleeva (biathlon and cross-country skiing), Azat Karachurin (biathlon), Inga Medvedeva (Alpine skiing), Kirill Mikhailov (biathlon and cross-country skiing), Grigory Murygin (biathlon and cross-country skiing), Alexander Pronkov (cross-country skiing) and Stanislav Chokhlaev (biathlon and cross-country skiing).

The Medal of the Order For Merit to the Fatherland I class was conferred on Aleksey Amosov (sledge hockey), Maksim Andreyanov (sledge hockey), Natalia Bratyuk (biathlon), Aleksey Bychenok (biathlon), Vasily Varlakov (sledge hockey), Ilya Volkov (sledge hockey), Alexander Davidovich (biathlon and cross-country skiing), Andrey Dvenyaninov (sledge hockey), Irek Zaripov (cross-country skiing), Mikhail Ivanov (sledge hockey), Vladimir Kamantsev (sledge hockey), Vladimir Kononov (cross-country skiing), Ivan Kuznetsov (sledge hockey), Dmitry Lisov (sledge hockey), Vladimir Litvinenko (sledge hockey), Aleksey Lysov (sledge hockey), Svetlana Pakhomova (wheelchair curling), Yevgeny Petrov (sledge hockey), Ilya Popov (sledge hockey), Marat Romanov (wheelchair curling), Vadim Selyukin (sledge hockey), Oksana Slesarenko (wheelchair curling), Andrey Smirnov (wheelchair curling), Nikolay Terentyev (sledge hockey), Ruslan Tuchin (sledge hockey), Alexander Shevchenko (wheelchair curling) and Konstantin Shikhov (sledge hockey).

Putin awarded Alexander Alyabyev (Alpine skiing), Marta Zaynullina (cross-country skiing) and Oleg Ponomarev (cross-country skiing) with the Medal of the Order For Merit to the Fatherland II class.

In his congratulatory speech the president thanked members of Russian Paralympic team for a tremendous triumph at the Winter Paralympic Games in Sochi.

“It is impossible to list all your achievements. You performed so brightly that it is senseless to say about this, repeat this,” the president said, addressing to Paralympic athletes.

He noted that performance of Russian Paralympians who have won 80 medals and took the top place in the medal standings became the best result not only for Russian Paralympic national team, but also the best result for the whole history of Paralympic movement.

“This is just fireworks of medals,” Putin summed up the Paralympics results.

Show more
In other media
Partner News