Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Russian National Defense Control Center to work for all CSTO members — Putin

December 23, 2014, 20:52 UTC+3 MOSCOW

This will increase controllability of national defense systems, troops, improve coordination, the Russian president said during a visit to the center in downtown Moscow together with CSTO leaders

1 pages in this article
© Alexey Druzhinin/TASS

MOSCOW, December 23. /TASS/. Russia’s National Defense Control Center will work for all countries members of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO), Russian President Vladimir Putin said in the center, based in downtown Moscow’s Frunzenskaya Embankment, on Tuesday.

Putin arrived at the center on Tuesday after today’s CSTO and Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) summits together with his counterparts — the leaders of Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan.

“Everything has been done exclusively with the use of Russian technologies, with very powerful computer support that has no analogs in the world today,” the Russian leader said. He said all CSTO countries will take part in the center’s work.

“I am convinced this will increase controllability of national defense systems, our troops, improve coordination,” the head of state said.

National Defense Control Center

The Russian Federation’s National Defense Control Center officially went on combat duty on December 1, and it will start running at full capacity from 2015. All relevant data streams have been directed here, which makes it possible to know the situation at any level of forces — up to any unit of the Armed Forces or any facility of the Defense Ministry’s department in real time for any specific hour and minute.

The hardware and software system allows users to model crisis situations not only around the borders of the Russian Federation but also at any point of the world.

The center will draft proposals for decisions to be made by the country’s leadership at the so called H hour. Besides, it is connected with ministries and departments that have similar structures to promptly exchange information. If necessary, seats for other departments’ representatives are booked in the center.

The CSTO is a regional security group comprising six countries — Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Armenia.

The EEU is a new integration association that will start operating on January 1, 2015. It comprises Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Armenia. Kyrgyzstan will join it later in 2015. Today’s meeting of the Russian, Belarusian and Kazakh presidents was the final one in the process to establish the EEU.

Show more
In other media
Partner News