Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Canada’s new sanctions list includes 10 Russia parliamentarians

December 20, 2014, 4:24 UTC+3 OTTAWA

Canadian Foreign Minister John Baird said

1 pages in this article

OTTAWA, December 20. /TASS/. Canada imposed on Friday new sanctions against Russia, Canadian Foreign Minister John Baird said.

According to him, the sanctions are imposed in connection with Russia’s actions in Ukraine. “The sanctions we have taken to date, in close collaboration with our allies and partners, are putting real economic pressure on the Russian Federation to cease military aggression in sovereign Ukrainian territory,” Mr. Baird said.

Canada is introducing travel bans against 11 more Russians and nine people from Ukraine, Mr. Baird said. There are also new restrictions on the export of technology used in Russia’s oil sector and further definitions of existing debt and equity financing prohibitions.

The website of the Canadian Department of Foreign Affairs Canada says the list included 11 people, including 10 Russian parliamentarians. Among them - vice speaker of the State Duma lower house of parliament and head of the United Russia faction Vladimir Vasilyev, MPs Viktor Vodolatsky (United Russia), Svetlana Zhurova (United Russia), Leonid Kalashnikov (Communist Party - CPRF), Igor Lebedev (LDPR party) Oleg Lebedev (United Russia), deputy chairman of the State Duma Nikolai Levichev (A Just Russia), first deputy chairman of the State Duma Ivan Melnikov (CPRF), MP Vladimir Nikitin (CPRF). The list also includes the deputy chairman of the Federation Council upper house of parliament Yuri Vorobyov and head of the office of Ukraine’s self-proclaimed Donetsk People's Republic (DPR) in the Russian Federation Andrei Rodkin.

Thus, the number of individuals exposed to Canadian sanctions has now reached 77 people. Canada last time imposed sanctions against Russia on September 16.

Show more
In other media
Partner News