US declaration on UN reform is not organization’s document - LavrovRussian Politics & Diplomacy September 24, 13:34
US not to strike on DPRK as it is aware Pyongyang has nuclear weapon - LavrovRussian Politics & Diplomacy September 24, 13:32
US forces assist Syrian opposition force in crossing IS positionsRussian Politics & Diplomacy September 24, 12:55
Putin discusses Russia’s economy growth with ministersBusiness & Economy September 24, 2:38
Lavrov warns against partition of SyriaRussian Politics & Diplomacy September 23, 0:00
Lavrov calls to coordinate Russian, US military action in SyriaRussian Politics & Diplomacy September 22, 21:05
Lavrov blames Obama administration for souring Russia-US tiesRussian Politics & Diplomacy September 22, 20:41
Waging war on Korean Peninsula inadmissible, says LavrovRussian Politics & Diplomacy September 22, 20:36
Russian Northern Fleet completes drills in ArcticMilitary & Defense September 22, 18:01
MOSCOW, October 5. /TASS/. Russia’s government adopted a complex of measures to preserve and develop the Solovetsky archipelago. The government’s site published on Sunday an order signed by Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev.
“The decision is aimed at preservation and development of the Solovetsky archipelago as a unique complex of spiritual, cultural and natural heritage,” the document reads.
The Solovetsky archipelago comprises six islands in the western part of the White Sea, covering 300 square kilometres. They have been inhabited since the 5th century B.C. and important traces of a human presence from as far back as the 5th millennium B.C. can be found there. The archipelago has been the site of fervent monastic activity since the 15th century, and there are several churches dating from the 16th to the 19th century.
Following the 1917 October Revolution, when the monastery was abolished and replaced by the 'Solovky' State Farm, in turn abolished in 1923, when the islands became camps for political and other prisoners. From 1939 to 1957 the islands were used by the navy for training. In 1967 the museum was created, and in 1990 the monastery was reinstated.