Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

United Russia’s candidate becomes mayor of Black Sea Anapa city

March 25, 2013, 8:28 UTC+3

All votes have been counted with 83.98 percent of the votes cast in favor of acting head of the city administration Sergei Sergeyev

1 pages in this article

KRASNODAR, March 25 (Itar-Tass) – Acting head of the city administration Sergei Sergeyev from the United Russia Party was on Sunday elected Mayor of the Black Sea resort city of Anapa, the chairman of the territorial election commission, Sergei Starostin, said on Monday.

All votes have been counted with 83.98 percent of the votes cast in his favor, Starostin said. All other nine candidates polled less than five percent. Communist Viktor Tyurin came with 4.01 percent of the vote, Yabloko’s candidate Alexei Yegorov with 3.52 percent, while Sergei Burlutsky from Civic Platform – with 1.97 percent.

Political parties nominating candidates for the election have made a joint statement addressed to the election commission chairman, marking that “it was the most democratic election over the past 15 years with ten candidates from ten political parties taking part”.

“Unfortunately another tendency emerged during the election – an aggressive activity of observers, members of district election commissions from candidate Yegorov (Yabloko), whose representatives impeded in every way the work of chairmen of district election commissions, bombarding them with unsubstantiated groundless complaints,” the document said. “Psychological pressure on members of district election commissions, a nervous situation engineered by Yabloko’s representatives – all this impeded the normal course of the election process,” the letter said. It also said similar activity had been seen from Yabloko leader Sergei Mitrokhin.

Ten candidates were running for Anapa mayor, particularly acting Mayor Sergei Sergeyev (United Russia), Alexei Yegorov (Yabloko), Ruslan Bulatov (LDPR), Sergei Burlutsky (Civic Platform), Sergei Yegishyan (Patriots of Russia), Andrei Kurkov (Party for Justice!), Rimma Rayevskaya (the people’s party For Women of Russia), Viktor Tyurin (CPRF) and Stanislav Shishkin (A Just Russia).

Previous Mayor Tatiana Yevsikova filed resignation over her health problems last December. The governor decided to appoint head of the Tikhoretsky district of the Krasnodar region Sergei Sergeyev as acting mayor.


Show more
In other media
Partner News