Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Russia does not create closed blocs unlike other countries — Lavrov

July 22, 2016, 16:07 UTC+3 MOSCOW

The minister stresses all post-Soviet integrational mechanisms are open for membership

1 pages in this article
© Alexandr Sherbak/TASS

MOSCOW, July 22. /TASS/. The Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) is open for cooperation with all interested countries, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov said on Friday.

"Unlike other countries, we do not create closed blocs," Lavrov told the National Educational Youth Forum "Territory of Meanings on the Klyazma."

"All integrational mechanisms created on the post-Soviet space with participation of Russia, are open for membership, for cooperation with all other interested countries. EAEU declared this in its founding documents," he added.

The foreign minister said interest toward EAEU is very broad.

"EAEU and Vietnam recently signed an agreement on establishing a free trade zone. Other ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) countries show interest in similar agreements, as well as two of three dozens of countries in Asia, Latin, America, and Israel," Lavrov noted.

"We already signed memorandums on starting consultations with 12 countries, excluding Vietnam. Another five memorandums will be signed soon," the foreign minister said.

The Eurasian Economic Union

The Treaty on the establishment of the Eurasian Economic Union was signed by the presidents of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan on May 29, 2014 in Astana.

The agreement is the basic document defining the accords between Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan for creating the Eurasian Economic Union for the free movement of goods, services, capital and workforce and conducting coordinated, agreed or common policies in key sectors of the economy, such as energy, industry, agriculture and transport.

The agreement stipulates the transition of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan to the next stage of integration after the Customs Union and the common economic space. Kyrgyzstan and Armenia also joined the EAEU.

Show more
In other media
Partner News