Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Russian PM Medvedev to come to Malaysia to attend 10th East Asia Summit

November 20, 2015, 8:59 UTC+3 MANILA

Medvedev is expected to hold a number of bilateral meetings with the heads of delegations on the sidelines of the summit

1 pages in this article
Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev

Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev

© Ekaterina Shtukina/Russian governmental press service/TASS

MANILA, November 20. /TASS/. Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev is arriving in Malaysia on Friday to attend the 10th East Asia Summit (EAS), which will be held on 21-22 November, the press service of the Russian government reported.

"At this meeting, the Heads of State and Government of the countries participating in the forum will discuss issues of security and sustainable economic growth in the Asia-Pacific region, consider progress of development of and prospects for cooperation in priority spheres such as energy, finance, healthcare, emergency response and interconnectedness," the government said.

It is planned to adopt on the discussion results the summit’s presidential statement, the Kuala Lumpur Declaration on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of EAS, a number of documents on regional and international issues.

Medvedev is expected to hold a number of bilateral meetings with the heads of delegations on the sidelines of the summit.

The Russian prime minister will arrive in In Kuala Lumpur from Manila, where he attended an Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) summit. After the visit to Malaysia he will pay a working visit to Cambodia.

The East Asia Summit is a regional leaders’ forum for strategic dialogue and cooperation on key challenges facing the East Asian region. The EAS is a significant regional grouping with an important role to play in advancing closer regional integration and cooperation at a time of particular dynamism in East Asia. Australia participated, as a founding member, in the inaugural EAS held in Kuala Lumpur on 14 December 2005. Membership of the EAS comprises the ten ASEAN countries (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Burma, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam), Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea, the United States and Russia. The 18 EAS member countries represent collectively 55% of the world’s population and account for around 55% of global GDP.

Show more
In other media
Partner News