Currency converter
^
News Feed
News Search Topics
ОК
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting
sections.
Loading

Space freighter Progress M-25M docks with ISS

October 29, 2014, 16:56 UTC+3 MOSCOW
The Russian cargo spacecraft has successfully delivered to the orbital station more than 2.5 tons of cargo
1 pages in this article
© EPA/NASA/ALEXANDER GERST

MOSCOW, October 29. /TASS/. Space freighter Progress M-25M has docked to the International Space Station (ISS), the Mission Control Center in the Moscow region told TASS on Wednesday.

“Progress M-25M has docked to docking compartment of module Pirs in Russian segment of the orbital station at 12.09 GMT (4.09pm Moscow time) on Wednesday in the automatic mode,” the Mission Control Center said.

The Russian cargo spacecraft has successfully delivered to the orbital station more than 2.5 tons of cargo, including fuel for ISS orbit adjustments, foodstuffs, drinking water and packed air for ISS crew, research equipment and devices for ISS operation.

“Progress M-25M was launched at 6.10am GMT (10.10am Moscow time) to the ISS from the Baikonur spaceport. This was the first Progress launch by carrier rocket Soyuz-2.1a. These space freighters were earlier delivered to the ISS only by rockets Soyuz-U.”

The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) has failed earlier on Wednesday to deliver cargoes to the ISS after space freighter Cygnus launched from the Wallops Island launch facility, Virginia, at 9.23pm GMT on Tuesday (01.23am Moscow time on Wednesday) exploded in the midair together with the Antares carrier rocket. The American space freighter was to deliver to the ISS more than two tons of foodstuffs and other useful cargoes, including about 720 kilograms of equipment and materials for scientific experiments, particularly chemical tests of substances created when meteorites are burning in the atmosphere.

Show more
In other media
Реклама
Реклама