Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Venice Film Festival jury announces this year’s award winners

September 07, 2013, 23:16 UTC+3

The Golden Lion for Best Film went to Sacro GRA by Gianfranco Rosi

1 pages in this article


VENICE, September 7 (Itar-Tass) - The Venezia 70 Jury, chaired by Bernardo Bertolucci and comprised of Andrea Arnold, Renato Berta, Carrie Fisher, Martina Gedeck, Jiang Wen, Pablo Larrain, Virginie Ledoyen, and Ryuichi Sakamoto having viewed all 20 films in competition, announced this year’s award winners on Saturday, September 7.

The Golden Lion for Best Film went to Sacro GRA by Gianfranco Rosi (Italy, France), the Silver Lion for Best Director to Alexandros Avranas for the film Miss Violence (Greece).

The Grand Jury Prize was awarded to Jiaoyou by Tsai Ming-liang (Chinese Taipei, France).

The Coppa Volpi award for Best Actor went to Themis Panou in the film Miss Violence by Alexandros Avranas (Greece); Coppa Volpi for Best Actress was presented to Elena Cotta in the film Via Castellana Bandiera by Emma Dante (Italy, Switzerland, France).

The Marcello Mastroianni Award for Best Young Actor or Actress went to Tye Sheridan in the film Joe by David Gordon Green (United States).

The award for the best screenplay was bestowed upon Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope for the film Philomena by Stephen Frears (United Kingdom).

The Special Jury Prize went to Die Frau Des Polizisten by Philip Groning (Germany).

Lion of the Future - “Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film Jury at the 70th Venice Film Festival, chaired by Haifaa al Mansour and comprised of Amat Escalante, Alexej German Jr., Geoffrey Gilmore, Ariane Labed, Maria Sole Tognazzi, decided to award the Lion of the Future - “Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film White Shadow by Noaz Deshe(Italy, Germany, Tanzania).

Venice International Film Critics’ Week and as a prize of 100,000 U.S. dollars, donated by Filmauro di Aurelio e Luigi De Laurentiis will be divided equally between the director and producer.

The Orizzonti Jury of the 70th Venice Film Festival, chaired by Paul Schraderand composed of Catherine Corsini, Leonardo Di Costanzo, Golshifteh Farahani, Frederic Fonteyne, Kseniya Rappoport, Amr Waked, after screening the 31 films in competition decided to give the Orizzonti Award for Best Film to Eastern Boys by Robin Campillo (France).

The Orizzonti Award for Best Director went to Uberto Pasolini for the film Still Life (United Kingdom, Italy).

The Special Orizzonti Jury Prize went to Ruin by Michael Cody and Amiel Courtin-Wilson (Australia).

The Special Orizzonti Award for Innovative Content was presented to Mahi Va Gorbeh by Shahram Mokri (Iran).

 The Orizzonti Award for Best Short Film went to Kush by Shubhashish Bhutiani (India).

Show more
In other media
Partner News