Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Russian State Duma backs idea to hold EAEU-EU forum

May 19, 2016, 15:06 UTC+3 ST. PETERSBURG

The dialogue between EAEU and EU has started, the EU will soon realize that it is an indivisible part of profound process of Eurasian integration — Russian State Duma Speaker Sergey Naryshkin

1 pages in this article
© Alexandr Shalgin/Russia's parliament press service/TASS

ST. PETERSBURG, May 19. /TASS/. Russian State Duma Speaker Sergey Naryshkin has supported the idea to hold a joint forum of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) and European Union (EU).

"The dialogue between EAEU and European Union has started. We can only welcome the information announced by the chairman of Supreme Eurasian Economic Council, Kazakhstani President Nursultan Nazarbayev about holding a joint forum of EAEU and EU in the autumn," Naryshkin told the international forum "Eurasian economic prospects."

"The European Union will soon realize that it is an indivisible part of more profound and historically inevitable processes of Eurasian integration, and will join them as a responsible partner," he added.

"Thus, Great Eurasia will become only geographical, but also political and economic category in the global architecture of 21st century. Not only Eurasia will win from this, but also the humanity as a whole," he concluded.

Eurasian Economic Union

The Treaty on the establishment of the Eurasian Economic Union was signed by the presidents of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan on May 29, 2014 in Astana.

The agreement is the basic document defining the accords between Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan for creating the Eurasian Economic Union for the free movement of goods, services, capital and workforce and conducting coordinated, agreed or common policies in key sectors of the economy, such as energy, industry, agriculture and transport.

The agreement stipulates the transition of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan to the next stage of integration after the Customs Union and the common economic space. Kyrgyzstan and Armenia also joined the EAEU.

Show more
In other media
Partner News