Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Kyrgyzstan opens customs border with Kazakhstan and other EAEU members

August 12, 2015, 12:11 UTC+3 BISHKEK

This opens new possibilities and provides several exemptions for Kyrgyz citizens, businessmen and migrants working abroad, Kyrgyz Prime Minister Temir Sariyev says

1 pages in this article

BISHKEK, August 12. /TASS/. A solemn ceremony of lifting customs controls has taken place today on the border between Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan in the framework of the latter’s full-fledged accession to the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU).

"From this day, Kygryztsan will freely move its goods, services, capital and labor force along with other EAEU member countries," Kyrgyz Prime Minister Temir Sariyev said. "This, in turn, opens new possibilities and provides several exemptions for our citizens, businessmen and migrants working abroad." The prime minister also noted that opening customs borders in the framework of EAEU will "open new prospects" for Kyrgyzstan’s economy as well.

The ceremony of lifting customs control which took place at the Ak-Zhol checkpoint on the Bishkek-Almaty highway was attended by Kyrgyzstan’s Prime Minister Temir Sariyev and Kazakhstan’s First Premier Bakhytzhan Sagintayev. The president of the two countries Almazbek Atambayev and Nursultan Nazarbayev watched the ceremony live on video from the Kyrgyz city of Cholpon-Ata.

Customs controls will be lifted at eight checkpoints on Kyrgyz-Kazakhstani border today. The Kyrgyz authorities will set up special customs offices near them to help businessmen and citizens to adapt to new economic conditions. The offices will work until August 31.

The EAEU, which currently comprises Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan, is a new integration association. It started functioning from January 1, 2015 instead of the Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC). The former officially ceased to exist on October 10, 2014.

The Treaty on the establishment of the Eurasian Economic Union was signed by the presidents of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan on May 29, 2014 in Astana.

The agreement is the basic document defining the accords between Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan for creating the Eurasian Economic Union for the free movement of goods, services, capital and workforce and conducting coordinated, agreed or common policies in key sectors of the economy, such as energy, industry, agriculture and transport.

The agreement stipulates the transition of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan to the next stage of integration after the Customs Union and the common economic space.

Show more
In other media
Partner News