Currency converter
All news
News Search Topics
Use filter
You can filter your feed,
by choosing only interesting

Russia to discuss oil and gas prices at Gas Exporting Countries Forum — Gazprom official

December 15, 2014, 16:39 UTC+3 MANAMA

Even if there is no wide discussion of the situation with oil prices at the forum, these issues are sure to be raised in private conversations, the chairman of the board of directors of Gazprom says

1 pages in this article
© ITAR-TASS/Alexei Pavlishak

MANAMA, December 15. /TASS/. Russia will discuss the oil and gas price situation with members of the Gas Exporting Countries Forum (GECF), Viktor Zubkov, the chairman of the board of directors of Russia’s gas giant Gazprom, said on Monday.

“We will consider the current situation, there is no avoiding oil and gas prices, because the gas price depends on the price for oil. These issues will also be in the focus of participants in the forum,” he told journalists before leaving for Qatar, where he will attend a meeting of the Gas Exporting Countries Forum.

“Even if there is no wide discussion (of the situation with oil prices) at the forum, these issues are sure to be raised in private conversations,” he added.

Gas Exporting Countries Forum

Headquartered in Doha, Qatar, the Gas Exporting Countries Forum, a gathering of owners of 73% of the global gas reserves who account for 42% of global gas production, was initiated by Iran in 2001.

Its legal registration was completed in December 2008 in Moscow, when the organization’s Statute was adopted. In accordance with the GECF Statute, the organization is aiming to support the sovereign rights of its members over their natural gas resources and their abilities to develop, preserve and use such resources for the benefit of their peoples, through the exchange of experience, views, information and coordination in gas-related matters. 

Members of the forum are the world’s leading natural gas exporting countries: Iran, Algeria, Bolivia, Libya, Russia, Nigeria, Equatorial Guinea, Qatar, Egypt, Trinidad and Tobago, and Venezuela. Kazakhstan and Norway enjoy the observer status.

Show more
In other media
Partner News